This is the "BOOKS" page of the "DECADES" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DECADES  

Last Updated: Oct 30, 2015 URL: http://south.middletownk12.libguides.com/Decades Print Guide RSS Updates

BOOKS Print Page
  Search: 
 

BOOKS

      SEARCH      -   Click on thumbnail to the left or to go to our Destiny Online Catalog.  Look up your topic.

 


 

RECOMMENDED TITLES

1. General Encyclopedias – these are good for background information.   They are located in our Special Reference Section.  Use the set index.


2. Look in the REFERENCE 920s.  These are biographical resources.  There are some single volume reference biography books, or try looking at our collective biography sets, as follows:

REF 920 BRO              People in the News
      REF 920 ENC              Encyclopedia of World Biography            
      REF 920 MAT              Complete American Presidents Sourcebook
      REF 920 MCG              Encyclopedia of World Biography
REF 920.02 UXL           UXL Encyclopedia of World Biography                      
      REF 920.03 CUR           Current Biography Yearbooks (Use cumulative index volume)
      REF 920.073 SCR          American Lives
      REF 923.73 DIC           Dictionary of American Biography
      REF 920.73 LEW           American Characters:  Selections from the National Portrait Gallery

3. HISTORICAL SOURCES:

A. You may browse through the following sections of the library: 

REFERENCE AND NON-FICTION 909.82s Chronologies 
REFERENCE AND NON-FICTION in the 973s.  These are books on American History. 
REFERENCE AND NON-FICTION 973.9s - 20th Century 
  

B.  For selected titles: we especially recommend the REFERENCE Books/sets below:

    REF 030 WOR               The World Almanac and Book of Facts 1929
      REF 070                         The New York Times Page One 1896-1996
      REF 070.4 ARN              In America
      REF 303.61 GAR            Protest, Power and change: An Encyclopedia of Nonviolent Action from Act-Up to Women’s Suffrage
      REF 305.5 DER              Working Americans
      REF 330.9 DEP              The Depression Years: As Reported by the Times
      REF 330.973 DEP V.1     Depression America
      REF 338.5 DER              The Value of a Dollar
      REF 342.73   CON          The Nineteenth Amendment: Women’s Right to Vote
      REF 352.23 KAN             Facts about the Presidents
      REF 353.03 DUR            The Presidents of the United States
      REF 353.03 MAG           The American Presidents
      REF 355.0092 AME        America at War      
      REF 347.73 KNA            Great American Trials
      REF 364 CRI                  The Illustrated Crime Encyclopedia
      REF 364.1 V.2               Watergate and the White House
      REF 629.2  GEO            The New Encyclopedia of Motorcars 1885 to the Present
      REF 629.22 DRA            The Encyclopedia of the Motorcar
      REF 629.222 ENC V.4    The Encyclopedia of Cars
      REF 791.43 INT              The International Directory of Films And Filmmakers
      REF 791.43 TIM             100 Years of Hollywood
      REF 909.092 VIL            Villains and Outlaws
      REF 909.82 AVA            Day by Day
      REF 909.82 Tab              Icons of the Century
      REF 911 NAS                 Atlas of American History
      REF 920.0092 CON V.1  Contemporary Black Biography V.1
      REF 940.3 GRO             The Grolier Library of World War I
      REF 940.53 V.3              The Encyclopedia Of The Holocaust
      REF 940.53 SCH             World War II
      REF 970 ENC                  Encyclopedia of North American History               
      REF 973 ADA                  Album of American History
      REF 973 ALB                  An Album for Americans
      REF 973 AME                 American History by Era
      REF 973 AME V.7           Prosperity, Depression and War
      REF 973 AME                 American History By Era
      REF 973 ANG                 The American Reader: from Columbus to today
      REF 973 GRO                 American Scene
      REF 973 HAK                 A History of US
      REF 973 HAK V.9           War, Peace and All That Jazz
      REF 973 MAK                Makers of America
      REF 973 MCC                Record of America
      REF 973 MIL                  The Military History of the United States
      REF 973 PAG                Pageant of America
      REF 973 SAL                 African-American Culture and History
      REF 973 SMI                 A People’s History of the United States
      REF 973 TIM                 Life History of the United States
      REF 973.03 ADA           Dictionary of American History
      REF 973.03 DIC            Dictionary of American History
      REF 973.099 MOS        Profiles in American History
      REF 973.8 AME           American Eras
      REF 973.9 AME           American Decades: Primary Sources
      REF 973.9 AME           America in the 20th Century
      REF 973.9 BOW          Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20thCentury America 
      REF 973.9 TIM             This Fabulous Century (Pictorial history)   
      REF 973.9 TWE           20th Century America
      REF 973.9 TWE           20th Century America
      REF 973.91 CEN          The 20th Century
      REF 973.91 US            USA Twenties
      REF 973.92 AME          American Decades
      REF 973.92 CUL          A Cultural History of the U.S. through the Decades
      REF 973.92 KAL           Through the Decades
      REF 973.92 USA          USA Sixties
      REF 973.921 U.S          U.S.A. Fifties
      REF 973.923 EPS        20TH Century Pop Culture       
      REF 976.4 LEM            Out of the Forties                              
C. SPECIALTY ITEMS
 
STACK OF DECADESask at the Reference Desk
 
SPEC REF 909.83 FAC      Facts on File Yearbooks  - span the years from 1962 to 2010
SPEC REF 973 AME         American History Illustrated
SPEC REF 973 ANN         The Annals of America (Primary Documents)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip