You can look for books on our on-line card catalog, Destiny
Suggested search terms:
1. Use the artist’s last name and search as a subject or a keyword.
2. Try Spanish art* and see what comes up (the asterisk allows for any ending on the root word)
3. Try either art* or artist* and see what comes up.
Or you can utilize the Browse technique.
A. Go to Non-fiction 703 to 709 and scan the shelves.
B. Go to the Reference Section: REF 703 to REF 709 where you will find many Art sets or Encyclopedias. Use the set indexes.
These are some recommended Reference books. Remember to use the set index:
REF 703 GOW Encyclopedia of Visual Art v. 7
REF 703 GRE Great Artists of the Western World
REF 703 LAN Schirmer Encyclopedia of Art
REF 703 RAT New International Illustrated Encyclopedia of Art
REF 708.1471 MET Great Paintings from the
REF 708.46 PRA
REF 709 ART Art: A World History
REF 709 BOG Picasso & Things
REF 709 BOO The Book of Art, v.4 (El Greco)
REF 709 HID Goya
REF 709 INT International Dictionary of Art and Artists
REF 709 UND Understanding Art: A Reference Guide to Painting, Sculpture, and Architecture in the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, and Baroque Periods (Velazquez)
REF 709.2 CON Contemporary Artists
REF 709.2 EUR European Artists
REF 709.2 GAL Artists: from Michelangelo to Maya Lin
REF 759 KIE Masters of Painting
REF 759.6 PAB Pablo Picasso: a Retrospective
REF 909 REF Reformation, exploration, and empire (El Greco)
REF 909 WOR Industrial Revolution in
REF 909.82 TAB Icons of the Century (Picasso)
REF 709.2 FAC Facts on File Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists
REF 920 DIC Dictionary of World Biography
REF 920 GRO Grolier Library of International Biographies v. 9
REF 920 MCGSec Encyclopedia of World Biography
REF 920.009 CON Contemporary Heroes and Heroines (Kahlo)
REF 920.02 UXL Encyclopedia of World Biography
There is a wonderful cooking and foods section in our Non-Fiction collection where you can browse through the book selections. Go to 641s.
In our Reference Section, you may wish to consult:
REF 641.5 WOR - World Atlas of Food
REF 910 LAN - Land and Peoples (Look in the Index for Foods, Cuisine OR your specific country).
REF 980 LAT - Latin America: History and Culture: an Encyclopedia for Students
You could also do a Power Search, putting your country in the first field; and the word food in the second field.