This is the "Home" page of the "LITERARY CRITICISMS - Grimm / Whitmore" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LITERARY CRITICISMS - Grimm / Whitmore   Tags: grimm  

How to find literary criticisms in print and online sources.
Last Updated: May 26, 2017 URL: http://south.middletownk12.libguides.com/LITERARYCRITICISMS Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

E-BOOKS

The links below are for virtual books - actual print books that have been digitized. 

If you are asked for logon information, use the following:                                         User Name: mhss                            Password: eagles

  

LITERATURE DATABASES

User Name: MHSS  Password: Eagles  (for most of the databases below).  The following databases contain varied literary content such as author biographies; summary, analysis explanation and criticism of literary works; information on literary movements and events; and some fulll-text literary works.

  • Facts on File - Bloom's Literary Reference Online
    Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
  • ProQuest - Learning Literature
    A comprehensive resource including 3,000+ author biographies; 40 searchable full-text literature journals; full-text literary works; and other key criticism and reference sources.
  • Explora Secondary
    Use the Advanced Search (see link under search box). Type in your term and then scroll down to choose publication type in each field of limiters. Choose Literary Criticism.
  • EBSCO - Literary Reference Center
    Is a comprehensive literary reference database. Its primary goal is to assist students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature.

LITERARY CRITICISM DATABASES

User Name: MHSS  Password: Eagles  (for most of the databases below). 

  • Facts on File - Bloom's Literary Reference Online
    Type your term in the search box, (e.g. Mark Twain). Search. When the results list comes up, click on tabs at the top of the page. Particularly note: Analyses and Criticism.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Click on Advanced Search link on tool bar. In first field, toggle down to Name of Work and type in the title OR toggle down to Person About and type in the author’s name. Two ways to go after that:

    1. Further down on the page look for the document type box, scroll down to critical essay. Search.
    2. Scroll down to the section by content type. Deselect All . Next scroll down on the page to the section by document type and highlight critical essay. Search. When the results list comes up, look at the tabs at top of the page for the different types of documents available, particularly Literature Criticism.
  • ProQuest - Learning Literature
    In Quick Search box, type in your term, (e.g. Grapes of Wrath). Click GO. Then, click on the red link that says Criticism, to narrow down your results.
  • EBSCO - Literary Reference Center
    Type in your term (e.g. J.D. Salinger or Catcher in the Rye). Look at the tabs at the top of the page for one that reads: Literary Criticism
  • (Ebsco) EXPLORA Secondary
    Use the Advanced Search (see link under search box). Type in your term and then scroll down to choose publication type in each field of limiters. Choose Literary Criticism.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip