This is the "Home" page of the "WORLD ISSUES: DOCUMENTED ESSAY PROJECT -Carey / Velasquez" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WORLD ISSUES: DOCUMENTED ESSAY PROJECT -Carey / Velasquez  

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2017 URL: http://south.middletownk12.libguides.com/WorldDocumentedEssay Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

E-BOOKS

BOOKS

SEARCH

Click on thumbnail above to go to our Destiny Online Catalog.  Look up your topic.


Also, we recommend the following REFerence Books/Sets found inthe Library:

REF 170.3 GRO   Ethics and Values

REF 174 ENC   Encyclopedia of Biotethics (excellent)

REF 300 INF   Information Plus Series

REF 303.6 ENC   Encyclopedia of Propaganda

REF 303.6 ENC   Encyclopedia of World Terrorism

REF 304.8 USI   U.S. Immogration and Migration

REF 306 ENC   Encyclopedia of Social Issues

REF 333.703 ASH   The Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies

REF 338.003 BUS   Business and Industry (unemployment info)

REF 344.73 SAC   The Employee Rights Handbook

REF 346.73 FRO   Women's Rights on Trial

REF 347.07 GRE   Great World Trials

REF361.1 PRO   Pro/Con Series

REF 363.7 ENV   Environmental Encyclopedia

REF 364.03 ENC   Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice

REF 809 CON   Contemporary Literary Criiticism

REF 809.3 NOV   Novels for Students

REF 810.9 IDE   Identities and Issues in Literature

SPEC REF 909.82 FAC   Facts on File Yearbook

      
     

    RESEARCH TIPS

    DESTINY  (Click to go to our online catalog)

    When searching for books in our library you may try several approaches as follows:

    1. BASIC SEARCH: Search by your specific topic, e.g. AIDS  Try a subject search first and if that doesn't yield good results, search by keyword next.

    2. BOOLEAN SEARCH: Once in Destiny, click on the mini tab for Power search.  Put in multiple terms, such as women and civil rights. This tells Destiny to look for books that are about women's civil rights. I chose to search both fields as subject; but I could have searched using keyword as well.  Try both! 

    3. SERIES SEARCH: Again use the Power search capability. In the first field, type your topic, e.g. endangered species. (You may choose to leave the default search (which is keyword) or arrow down to subject for more precise results.) Make sure the operator AND is selected between search fields.  In the second field, arrow down to series. Type in the name of one of the series listed below.  Try them out one at a time until you get good results.

    SERIES ON CURRENT OR CONTROVERSIAL MATTERS
    • At Issue
    • Current Controversies
    • Information Plus
    • Opposing Viewpoints
    • PRO/CON
    • Reference Shelf
    • Taking Sides

    School Library Media Specialist

    Profile Image
    Mrs. Christine Nagy
    Contact Info
    732-706-6111 x2146
    *ALL CONTENT PRIOR TO 9/2017 CREATED BY MRS. FREDA.
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip