This is the "Home" page of the "DATABASE SGO" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DATABASE SGO  

Last Updated: May 2, 2017 URL: http://south.middletownk12.libguides.com/content.php?pid=710040 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ACCESS FROM ANYWHERE

1. Go to:  middletownk12.org

2. In the orange toolbar, click on Students.

3.  Scroll down to Resource Center.

 

WHY, WHY, WHY?

WHY DO WE ENCOURAGE YOU TO USE DATABASES?

1. The information is more reliable than the open web.

2. Colleges prefer databases for research.

3. The information is updated many times daily.

 

CONTENT - I

I SAVED THE BEST FOR LAST!!

1. Our databases cover pretty much EVERY subject area!  That includes:

  • History
  • Science
     
  • Mythology
     
  • Health, Fitness, Medical
     
  • Career information
     
  • Geography & Culture (including customs, recipes, clothing, etc).
     
  • Literature (including literary criticisms)
  •  Mathematics

  • Technology

  • Arts

  • Business

  • Foreign Languages

  • Law

  • Sports / P.E.

  • War & Warfare

 

 

 

USAGE RIGHTS

1. Our academic databases are NOT free.  We subscribe to them and we pay for you to be "members".  That is why you must know the login information


2. You are allowed to print from the databases, but ALWAYS give credit. You have to cite sources you find anywhere, including on the databases.

 

SEARCHING DATABASES

WHAT'S IS IMPORTANT TO KNOW ABOUT SEARCHING ON DATABASES?

1. You can do a Basic Search OR you can do an Advanced Search (this allows you to design your own search, linking terms).


2. Your results are more focused than the open web.  On the open web, you can get thousands of results faster....but they are not necessarily better!  


3. Searching a database does not replace consulting books for your research.  Both are credible resources and complement each other.  Depending upon your topic, sometimes a book is preferable; other times a database is best.  I support using both. 

 

CONTENT - II

A.  MANY OF OUR DATABASES INCLUDE PRIMARY SOURCES!!! 

Such as:

Words of a speech or diary, or historical document.


B. MANY OF OUR DATABASES ADDRESS NEWS OR CURRENT & CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES.

Such as the pros & cons of certain issues.

 

CONTENT - III

DATABASES ARE COLLECTIONS OF INFORMATION FROM A VARIETY OF SOURCES. DATABASES INCLUDE INFORMATION DIGITIZED FROM MANY FORMATS!!!

Such as:

  • Books
  • Periodicals                                                                     
  • Documents
  • Statistics
  • Media
  • Maps
  • llustrations
  • Essays
  • Articles
  • Dissertations
  • Radio / TV Transcripts
  • Web Sites
  • and more

IMPORTANT - A DATABASE IS NOT A DIGITIZED BOOK BUT MAY INCLUDE A DIGITIZED BOOK.  An E-Book is a digitized book.  DO YOU UNDERSTAND THE DIFFERENCE??

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip