ONLINE SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES
These are web-based sources, but not the open web. The material has been pre-evaluated for quality and accuracy. You can access these from school or from home (ask for green remote access booklet for home access). At school just go to middletownk12.org > In orange toolbar select Students > scroll down to Resources Center > a menu will appear at the left side of the page. Click on Database Resources.
These are the ones to which we subscribe:
Ebsco: Over 170 journals, abstracts for 930 publications & database bundle covering all subject areas (e.g. History, Biography, Health, Environment, Business, Literature, & controversial issues).
Facts on File: Reference database bundle with Science, Literature, History, Curriculum Resource, Geography, Health and Career Topics.
Gale On-Line Programs: Reference database bundle including the following:
- Global Issues in Context - International viewpoints on a broad Destiny of global issues, topics, and current events. Includes unique "perspectives" articles (written by local experts), primary sources, reference, periodical, statistics and multimedia.
- Literature Resource Center - Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analyses of authors, poets, novelists, essayists, journalists by name, title, literary movement or literary theme. Includes recommended web sites.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Access viewpoint articles, topics, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, & full-text magazine & newspaper articles.
- Science in Context - Thousands of science topics, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations.
- U.S. History in Context - More than 1,000 historical documents, 30,000 reference articles, 65 full-text journals covering themes, events, persons & periods in U.S. History.
- World History in Context - Draws on themes & trends from World History. Full-text articles from academic journals, maps & images and primary source documents.
Issues: Understanding Controversy & Society – Authoritative historical context, expert perspectives & primary and secondary sources on the issues of the day.
Jersey Clicks - State supported databases in a wide variety of fields and subject areas.
JSTOR - (case sensitive logon: User Name: MHSS Password: Eagles) an online archive of multidiscipline journal articles in the most significant professional journals. Used for research, teaching, and learning. With more than 1,000 academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
ProQuest: - More than 2,000 full-text and media sources. Also includes History Study Center, Proquest Learning Literature, Proquest Historical Newspapers, and Culturegrams – (World Edition explores cultures of 187 countries and territories & includes maps, & in-depth information. Also has section on U.S.States, photos, famous people, and recipes).
Salem History - Includes the complete content of The Sixties, The Seventies, The Eighties, The Nineties and The 2000s in America printed reference sets.
World at War: Understanding Controversy & Society - presents comprehensive information and unique insights into the military conflicts that have defined our world's identity from its beginning to today.
World Book Online - (Case sensitive logon: User Name: hssouth Password: eagles) The complete encyclopedia plus an Atlas, a Dictionary and Explore New Jersey feature.