This is the "Home" page of the "DATABASES 2016-2017" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DATABASES 2016-2017  

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2017 URL: http://south.middletownk12.libguides.com/database Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

DATABASE ACCESS

ABC-CLIO PROGRAMS

Issues: Understanding Controversy & Society - Authoritative historical context, expert perspectives & primary and secondary sources on the issues of the day.

World at War: Understanding  Controversy & Society presents comprehensive information and unique insights into the military conflicts that have defined our world's identity from its beginning to today.

Modern Genocide  Comprehensive examination of 10 modern genocides, including primary documents. Hundreds of entries on atrocities, organizations, individuals, and more.

Pop Culture Universe  Examines what society as has found interesting, entertaining, or worthy of adulation, revealing rare sociological and historical insights.

  http://databases.abc-clio.com                         

Username:  mhss ­ Password: eagles 


BRITANNICA

The Complete Encyclopedia online; Internet Guide to the Web’s best sites, Merriam Webster Dictionary, and also WORLD DATA ANALYST.

URL:  http://academic.eb.com (Britannica Online)

URL:  http://world.eb.com (World Data Analyst)

User name: mhss ­ Password: eagles

User name & password are case sensitive.

 


EBSCO PROGRAMS     Ebsco login information below.

EBSCOhost Web (bundle) - Multiple databases (Academic Search Premier; Biography Collection Complete; Business Source Elite; ERIC, Funk & Wagnall’s Encyclopedia; Green File; Health Source; Library, Information, Science and Technology Abstracts; MAS Ultra; MasterFILE; Newswires; Newspaper Source; Regional Business;Teacher Reference; Web News; AHFS Consumer Medication Information.

Legal Reference Center - Contains more than 310 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms.  Offers the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed “how-to” instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues. 

 Literary Reference Center - Provides information on thousands of authors and their works.  Combines information from a multitude of reference works, books, and literary journals.  Includes plot summaries, literary criticisms, author biographies, book reviews, poems, classic and short stories, & author interviews.

Novelist - Comprehensive readers’advisory for fiction lovers.

Points of View - Assists researchers in understanding controversial subjects.

Referencia Latina - Spanish language reference database.

Salud en Espanol - Provides health and wellness information in Spanish.

Small Business Reference Center - Provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales, to growing or rescuing a business.

Student Research Center - Makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc. Includes Teacher Resources.

URL:  http://search.ebscohost.com

 User name: mhss ­ Password:  eagles


FACTCITE Defining Moments contains authoritative, useful historical resources that will be of value to anyone interested in learning more about America’s past—and in understanding how those defining historical events continue to reverberate in the twenty-first century. 

 Includes overview, biographies, primary sources, and research topics associated with the event.  New events are added continually.  

 URL:  http://www.factcite.com

User name: mhss      Password: eagles


FACTS ON FILE (bundle)  Facts on File login information below.

Bloom’s Literary Reference - Examines great writers, important works, characters, movements and events in world literature.

Curriculum Resource Center - A library of printable teacher-handout  material for the middle & high school, and junior college curriculum.

Facts on File Virtual Reference - Extensive collection of E-books in all subject areas, digitized from the print versions.

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center - Detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94          industries, invaluable advice on career skills.

Health Reference Center - Comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

History Online - Six cross-searchable databases: American History, American Women’s History, African American History, American Indian History, Modern World History, and Ancient and Medieval History.

Science Online - Presents scientific disciplines through definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies & experiments. 

World Geography & Culture Online - Detailed, printable, full-color maps with up-to-date statistical and local information.

 URL for all Facts on File programs:

URL: http://www.fofweb.com/subscription

User name: mhss ­ Password:  eagles 


GALE ONLINE PROGRAMS - (bundle)   Gale logon information below.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Extensive collection of  E-books, digitized from the print versions. Includes publications in: Arts, Biography, Law,

Business, Education, Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Social Science, Science, Nation /World, and Religion.

 Global Issues in Context - International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Includes unique

"perspectives" articles (written by local experts), primary sources, reference, periodical, statistics and multimedia.

 Informé - Offers resources for Spanish-speaking users, with full-text of popular Hispanic magazines, plus terms & thesaurus.

Literature Resource Center - Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analyses of authors, novelists, poets, essayists,  journalists by name, title, literary movement or literary theme. Includes recommended web sites.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Access  viewpoint  articles,  topics,  statistics, primary documents, links to websites, & full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Science in Context - Thousands of science topics, experiments, biographies,  pictures and illustrations.  From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers.

U.S. History in Context - More than 1,000 historical documents, 30,000 reference articles, 65 full-text journals covering themes, events, persons & periods in U.S. History.

World History in Context - Draws on themes & trends from World History. Full-text articles from academic journals, maps & images and primary source documents.

URL for all Gale programs:

http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/midd46556  

No user name.  Password: eagles

 


JERSEY CLICKS -  Databases that cover subjects such as health, history, business, education, science, current events, literature, and popular fiction. Medline Plus, Womenshealth.gov, Contemporary Authors to name a few.

URL: http://jerseyclicks.auto-graphics.com/homepages/jclicks/jclicksclassic.asp  No Username.     

 


JSTOR -  Online archive of multidisciplinary articles in the most significant professional journals. Used for research, teaching, and learning. Over 1,000 academic journals & 1 million+ images, letters, & primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.Also includes Global Plants and Aluka (scholarly resources from and about Africa)

URLs: https://www.jstor.org/action/

JSTOR Plants - Global Plants is a community-contributed database where worldwide herbaria can share their plant type specimens, experts can determine and update naming structures, students can discover and learn about plants in context, and a record of plant life can be preserved for future generations.

ALUKA - Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.

Username: MHSS­ Password: Eagles (case sensitive)


NOODLETOOLS - Noodlebib

Simplifies the process of creating and editing MLA and APA source lists. Includes virtual note cards, outlines, etc.

   URL: http://www.noodletools.com/logon/signin

Username: mhss ­ Password: eagles                           Under NoodleBib, click on Current Users Sign In.    First-time users: create a personal ID & password

 


PROQUEST PROGRAMS - (bundle)

Culturegrams - Daily life /culture for over 200 countries, U.S., & Canada.

 eLibrary Curriculum Edition (bundle) - Content specifically for K-12 schools, including more than 2,000 full-text and media sources.

 History Study Center - Historical reference from ancient to modern.

 Proquest Historical Newspapers - Cover to cover, full-page articles and images from 1851 to 2001.

 Proquest Learning: Literature - Full-text literary resources, including criticism.

 URL: http://www.proquestk12.com

User name: mhss ­ Password: eagles

 


SALEM LITERATURE

Classics Reviewed

Critical Insights

Critical Survey

Magill Literary Annual 2016

Cyclopedia of Literary Places

 

SALEM HISTORY - Includes the complete content of the following printed reference sets:  

Decades: The Twenties, The Thirties, The Forties, The Fifties, The Sixties, The Seventies, The Eighties, The Nineties, The 2000s

American Presidents and First Ladies;

Countries, Peoples and Cultures

Defining Documents in American History

Famous First Facts

Great Events from History (Modern Scandals)

Great Lives (American Women; Inventors & Inventions)

This is Who We Were

Fashion Innovators

World Political Yearbook

 URL: http://history.salempress.com/page/login.jsp?redirectUri=/  

 User name:  mhss ­ Password: eagles

 

 


WORLD BOOK ONLINE-  Includes all of the features of this well-known encyclopedia, including articles, media, biographical information, news headlines, quizzes, activities, research skills and more.

 URL: http://www.worldbookonline.com

User name:  hssouth (case sensitive)

Password: eagles

 


 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip