This is the "PRINT SOURCES" page of the "RENAISSANCE FIGURES - DEPPELER" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RENAISSANCE FIGURES - DEPPELER  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2016 URL: http://south.middletownk12.libguides.com/renaissancefigures Print Guide RSS Updates

PRINT SOURCES Print Page
  Search: 
 

FINDING BOOKS

SEARCH
Click on thumbnail above to go to our Destiny Online Catalog.  Look up your topic.

 

TIPS

1.  First try looking up the person's name and click on Subject.  Be sure to type: last name, first name.* Then click on the Subject icon.
*Sometimes a person is known by only one name, e.g. Raphael, so you may want to try it both ways.

 

2. If that doesn't yield results, click on Refine your search, and type in first name and then click Keyword instead.  

3. You can also search by area of achievement.  For example: 

  • If your person is an artist, you can search in the Art section. 
  • If your person is a writer, you can search in the Literature section. 
  • If your person is a scientist, you can search in the Science section. 
  • If it is a woman, you can search the books on women in history.  And so on.

Type your term and click on the subject icon. You can then browse that section of the library for books that may contain your person.  Use the contents and indexes (including set indexes) to find the information you want.

4. You may also search for Renaissance as a subject and then consult the contents and indexes of the books that come up to see if they contain your person.

BROWSE the following sections: 
Use the contents and indexes to look up your topic.
 
REF 940.2s Renaissance books
REF 920s Reference Biography collections
REF 902.02s - These are Chronologies (the timetables of History)
REF 909s - These are general history books that span time periods. 
REF 500s - Mathematics and Science
REF 700s - Art and Architecture
REF 100s - Philosophy 
 

6. For general background information, our SPECIAL REFERENCE SECTION contains the following:

  • SPEC REF 031 BRI - Encyclopaedia Britannica - Use the set index.
  • SPEC REF 031 BRI - Encyclopedia Americana - Use the set index.
  • SPEC REF 031 BRI - World Book Encyclopedia - Use the set index. 

SUGGESTED TITLES

RECOMMENDED TITLES
These are books that are unlikely to come up during your normal search. 
 
FIRST TRY THE SEARCH TECHNIQUES IN THE RED BOX TO THE LEFT. IF YOU DON'T GET WHAT YOU NEED, TRY THE RESOURCES LISTED BELOW.

720.9 WOR Who's Who in Architecture: an Illustrated History from Earliest Times

REF 103 ENC Encyclopedia of Philosophy

REF 121.4 NEW New Dictionary of Ideas

REF 500.2 ALB Album of Science: From Leonardo to Lavoisier 1450-1800

REF 509 SCI Science and Its Times (use Vol. 8 – set index – to look up your person).

REF 509.2 ALL Makers of Science

REF 509.2 REN  The Renaissance and the Scientific Revolution: Biographical Profiles

REF 509.2 SCI   Scientists and Inventors

REF 510 BRU Math and Mathematics

REF 510.92 Notable Mathematicians

REF 609 McG World of Invention

REF 700.9 ART Arts & Humanities Through the Ages: Renaissance Europe 1300-1600

REF 703 GRE Great Artists of the Western World

REF 703 RAT The New International Encyclopedia of Art

REF 709.2 FAC Facts on File Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists

REF 709.2 GAL Artists: From Michelangelo to Maya Lin

REF 720.92 PLA Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects

REF 903 LAR Larousse's Dictionary of World History (the scope from earliest times to modern day)

      

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Cecelia Freda
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip